MDA Summer Camp: Changing My Life One Week At A Time

I’ve been wanting to blog about this past MDA Summer Camp since it ended back on June 18th. The only problem is, it’s tough to revisit right away with all of the emotions that were involved this year. I’ve always said that the kids at camp help me more than I will ever begin to help them, but this year, I got a little bit of a glimpse into how much the counselors really mean to the campers themselves.

I’ll say until my time is up on this earth that these kids help me more than I help them and that will never change. That philosophy started long before I ever attended camp, just being around my cousin Adam Sahlfeld who had Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. Seeing the struggles that he went through everyday helped put my little problems in life in perspective. Adam went through those struggles with grace and with a smile on his face, enjoying every second that God provided him on this earth. I know he always said he felt God put him on this earth for a purpose, and that was to help people appreciate their life and embrace their time. Adam was, is and will always be the single biggest inspiration in my life. Nothing will ever change that.

Adam always told me how great the summer camp experience was. It was a chance for him to feel normal amongst his peers. A chance for his disease to go relatively unnoticed. A chance for him to not feel like an outcast. I believed every word he said, but I knew that I couldn’t truly know what camp was unless I had the chance to experience it for myself. I was approached by my cousin Ashley, Adam’s sister, to see if I would want to attend as a counselor back in 2005. Unfortunately I had already planned a vacation that summer and my work vacation time was used up, so I had to pass on the chance. Ashley then asked me again the next year as the staff at camp was looking for more male counselors. I had my reservations about being able to take care of someone with a disability, but I gave in and said yes and filled out an application. I made the decision for the most part because it was going to be Adam’s final year he could attend summer camp.

Fast forwarding five years and six camps later, I can’t believe how much that simple decision changed my life forever.

My first year at camp, I was paired with a 12 year old kid named Michael Sechrest. I had no idea who he was or what to expect as his counselor. He proceeded to tell me once he got to know me that it was his third straight year of camp with a new counselor. He was a shy kid to me. He was rather reserved on what he would ask me to help him with. Over five years, he has grown into a very outspoken kid at camp and not shy about telling me what I’m doing right and what I’m doing wrong. Five years ago, I felt like if I made a mistake, the world would end. In the past few summers, I’ve just felt like I was walking along side my brother, just there for support if he needed me. Helping with those everyday things just becomes second nature.

My camper Michael & I

Unfortunately, this past camp was Michael’s last camp. Over the last three years, I’ve been blessed to have Michael’s brother Dillon at camp as a counselor as well. Even though he is in a different unit, the fact that I know he’s there has come in very handy. It’s hard to put into complete words what my experience has been like with Michael, but on that day he left camp for the final time as a camper, I felt a big hole in my heart. I am forever indebted to the whole Sechrest family for trusting me and letting me be a part of Michael’s life. I hope to see him as much as I can down the road, and hopefully in the near future.

That’s the experience with one camper. Over the years, I’ve met many young men that have changed and continue to change my life. Last year, the group that took part in their last year at camp was Matthew, Lucas, Josh, George, Sam and Michealangelo (sorry if I forgot anybody). This year, along with Michael, Patrick, Tyler, Shawn and Deone had their final year. We also had Tanner, who couldn’t make it to camp this year. Those are just some of the names of some of the great young men that I have had the joy of meeting and spending a whole week with the past six summers.

Patty & I

As I keep typing, I can’t stress how much these kids mean the world to me. Patty (Patrick) always had the one-liners. Tyler was a pretty quiet kid, but always had something to say to me that made me laugh. Shawn was always on the go. He took part in everything that camp had to offer. Tanner was on the go too, enjoyed his baseball and was a delight to be around. Deone was new this year, it was his first and last year to attend camp. I can’t even begin to express how much of a joy it was to see him get the absolute most out of his only camp experience.

As I mentioned earlier there were times this year when I realized how much the counselors mean to the campers as well. I connected with some of them on a different level this year. I know much of that was because their full week camp experience came to a close this year. The chats we had on a very personal level will be a part of this past summer’s camp that I will cherish and never forget. Camp is an escape from reality for some of these kids, but I found out this year, that it is a place to share their story with the other campers as well.

Along with the relationships that are forged with the kids in the same cabin, also come relationships with many other people, including counselors and other campers from different units. I am forever indebted to guys like Bryan Reagan and Matthew Wright who were there for me any time I needed them my first couple of years. Their devotion to this camp is amazing. Another counselor I need to mention is Tim Malena. He’s been going to camp more than 20 years I believe, and his devotion to the camp family is amazing too. He also brought in his nephew Josh Malena, who is one of the best people I’ve ever been associated with in my 28 years on this earth.

Every relationship that you make at camp has the chance to build outside of camp as well. For me, it’s very tough to keep in touch in person. I live three and a half hours from Kansas City, which is where most of our campers and counselors call home. Any chance I get, I will try and get together with the people I’ve met at camp. The one’s I see outside of camp are some that I have built a treasured bond with that can’t be broken.

Dani Eager, Me, & Sara Eager

The entire Eager family has been an inspiration to me. Matthew was another kid who was pretty shy the first couple of years, but broke out of his shell as time went on. It was a joy to see him at camp this year. His sister Sara and cousin Dani are two of the best people you’ll ever find walking this earth. I can’t believe what my life would be like if I had never met those girls. Their first year as counselors was my first year as well. We bonded pretty easily and pretty quickly. I can’t express in words how much I love all of the Eager family, including those that I’ve met outside of camp.

Eli Anderson and I have a pretty special connection. He’s a student at K-State in Manhattan. I never attended school there, but I’ve been a huge Wildcat fan my entire life. Manhattan is a bit closer to where I live, so I’ll try to make a connection with him when I feel I have some time in Manhattan. It was a blast watching the Big 12 Basketball Tournament Championship Game with him at Kite’s in Aggieville a year and a half ago. Any meeting with Eli will brighten my day for sure.

When talking about camp and treasured relationships, I can never leave out the person that allows me to continue to be able to take part in this great experience. Angie Hills is the best camp director anybody could ask for. Granted, she’s the only one I’ve ever had, as MDA Summer Camp is the only summer camp I’ve ever experienced, but it’s hard for me to imagine a person that cares more about what they are doing than Angie does. She’s an inspiration to every counselor at camp and every camper as well. I love her as much as anybody else I’ve met at camp, and can’t imagine anyone else leading this group of fine people.

Another great family I’ve met through camp is the Fenton family. I actually had the chance to meet Patrick Fenton the summer before my first camp. He made it out to Beloit for Adam’s 21st Birthday party. From the stories I’ve heard, Adam & Pat were inseparable at camp. They were best friends and you could see that each time they were together. Being able to meet Pat, his brother Kyle and his parents Fran and Phil has been a true blessing in my life as well.

Me with my cousin Ashley

Quite possibly outside of my cousin Adam, the biggest person I am indebted to for bringing me in to the camp experience is my cousin Ashley. Words can’t begin to describe how awesome she truly is. This year was the fifth year Adam has been gone from camp. He’s been gone from our world for three and a half years. He’s always with us in our hearts, and Ashley and myself keep him at camp through our hearts. Ashley continues to go because of her camper Claire Gibbs. It’s hard to argue that decision when you look past the surface.

Claire and her sister Lauren Gibbs both have Spinal Muscular Atrophy. I have known the Gibbs family for a little over 5 years now, and they are another family that has changed my life for the better. Any time I see the Gibbs family, my day gets a million times better.

The Family Picture: Back Row: Lauren Sikes, Me, Ashley; Front Row: Claire, Lauren

There became a running joke I think at camp that any time Ashley would refer to me, she would refer to me not as just Dusty, but as “my cousin Dusty”. Now, we’re all adopted cousins. Ashley, Claire, Lauren, myself and Lauren’s counselor Lauren Sikes. I can’t think of a better “family” than that! If we add in the Gibbs parents Tim & Natalie, I’d say it’s perfect!

I realize that this is a long post, I also realize that I haven’t even come close to thanking and recognizing everybody that’s changed my life over the past five years and six camps. It’s not possible to mention everyone, but for those reading, know that I love each and every person who has donated their time to these kids and to the Muscular Dystrophy Association. I also love all of the campers that have gone through Tall Oaks in Linwood, KS for a week each June.

I talked about the Gibbs sisters being a part of the family, but in the end every person that spends the week in Linwood is family. It’s our MDA family, and I’m proud to be a part of it. My hope is that one day these kids will be cured of their diseases, and that we can get together for family reunions. Until that day comes, I will devote everything I can to MDA as a whole and I will be there in June to spend a week at home with my family.

3 thoughts on “MDA Summer Camp: Changing My Life One Week At A Time

  1. You are such a wonderful person and everyone you have mentioned in this are also wonderful people! I am very lucky to have you in my family!! Love you!! BTW this made me cry!!

Leave a comment