2018 St. John’s Catholic High School Graduation Address

I have had some people asking about this, so since it’s kind of been printed in the Beloit Call already, I figured I’d post for others to read.  I just thought some of my family might want to see it.  It truly was a great honor to be able to do this.

To the class of 2018 at St. John’s Catholic High School, Administrators, Teachers, Father Damien, family and friends, it is my distinct honor to speak to you today.

In my 15 years in North Central Kansas, and even before that, St. John’s has always held a special place in my heart.  My grandparents Fred and Lucille Sahlfeld were members of this parish until their passing.  My mother, Barbara Sahlfeld Deines is a 1966 graduate of St. John’s and it’s extra special to have her here on Mother’s Day.  I’ve had six uncles and two aunts as well as two more aunts by marriage that graduated from this school.  Add to that a host of cousins, and even though I didn’t attend this school, my family’s history runs deep in this place.  That is evident by looking at this year’s graduating class, as Avery is a cousin and some may not know this, but Claire is also distant relation through the Smith and Thull families.

Also in my time as a member of the parish, I’ve been blessed that so many parents out there have allowed me to know your children on a personal level.  In essence an extended family has been built through St. John’s over the years.  This class of 2018 is no different.

When I first found out I’d be speaking today, I wanted to find a scripture verse that could best describe this group of seniors.  There was one that hit me like a ton of bricks when I saw it and I feel is a perfect representation of these four.  James 4:10 says “Humble yourselves before the Lord and he will exalt you.”  I would guess that your parents and teachers would feel this fits your class to a t.

As a sports announcer, much of what I see on a regular basis from all of you happens on the field or the court or the track.  You’ve all had a lot of success in that realm.  But if I’d see you out and about, you’re not flaunting that.  You’ve all competed in State Tournaments and held yourself in high esteem.  David and Avery have won individual state titles and still you don’t brag.  Your Cross Country team is back to back State Champions, yet still, you remain humble.  This fits all of you without a doubt, but I remember one of my off the air conversations that I’ve had with Coach Bergmann.  I always said my favorite thing about watching Adam play basketball is that when you looked at him on the court and the effort he puts in, you would never know if his team was winning or losing.  He never let the highs get too high or the lows get to low.  I saw more of Claire in volleyball this year and that attitude was the same as it’s also the same with David and Avery.  Each time out, you were all always gracious in victory or defeat.

The part I don’t get to see on a regular basis from your class is your academic success.  It truly shows that you have all exceled in that area as well, evidenced by the fact you’re all in National Honor Society.  David and Adam competing on the state qualifying Scholar’s Bowl team, and also being a part of the Math Relays team that finished 1st in the state yet again this year.  Your class’ list of academic accomplishments is simply too long to even think about listing them all in this address today.  This is a class that has truly gone above and beyond the norm.

You’ve all had a great run up to this point.  You’ve had a lot of things go right for you in this world.  Now, you prepare to head out on your own and soon you’ll enter the quote-unquote real world.  I hope that all of your hopes and dreams become a reality in the end for you.  If you put in the same amount of effort that you have during these days in high school, I have zero doubt you can and will succeed in whatever you do.  However, I’m here as an example that things aren’t always going to go the way you had planned.

You probably all remember that during your freshman year, I was down and out during nearly all of your basketball season.  I had lost my strength to a neuromuscular disease.  I spent two months in the hospital and another month in physical therapy to build my strength back up.  Now, I know today is not about me, and my hope is that none of you will have to go through any trying times like that, but if you find yourself battling, I feel like my experience can help in those times.  No matter your struggles, if you lean on your Lord and savior and surround yourself with others who do the same, like so many in this parish and school, you can overcome almost anything.  You’ve probably all either seen on my social media or seen me wearing shirts that quote the 2nd letter of Saint Paul to the Corinthians, Chapter 12 verses 9-10.  It says “but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.”  I will rather boast most gladly of my weaknesses, in order that the power of Christ may dwell with me.  Therefore, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and constraints, for the sake of Christ; for when I am weak, then I am strong.  If you find yourself in a hard situation in life, turn to these words.  The beginning and end of those verses speak volumes.  Power is made perfect in weakness; for when I am weak, then I am strong.  When you’re down and you feel like you might be out, turn to these words, and I promise, no matter your struggles, Christ’s grace will be enough for you to overcome them.

As so many of the other classes before yours at St. John’s, I will watch you leave with very fond memories.  Today you’ve given me the opportunity to make yours just a bit more special.

In closing, know that some of the things in your life will change over the years, but I hope and pray the core of what your class stands for never changes.  Remember, humble yourselves before the Lord and he will exalt you.  To the class of 2018 thank you from the bottom of my heart for letting me be a part of your special day.  Congratulations, God bless and best of luck in everything you do in the future.

Leave a comment